Avoid the wheat!

Why wheat is bad for you:

Send blood sugar sky-high. From a blood sugar standpoint, wheat is bad. Few foods are worse for blood sugar than wheat–except for gluten-free foods made with these junk carbohydrate ingredients.
Cause insulin resistance–the fundamental process that leads to diabetes.
Grow abdominal visceral fat–the inflamed fat, expressed on the surface as a “muffin top,” that causes hypertension, diabetes, heart disease, and cancer.
Trigger high triglycerides–which thereby leads to formation of small LDL particles that cause heart attack.
Trigger the phenomena of glycation, i.e., glucose modification of proteins, that leads to cataracts, knee and hip arthritis, hypertension, and heart disease.

Other reasons to avoid wheat:

1) You avoid the gliadin protein of wheat, the opiate in wheat that stimulates appetite and increases calorie consumption by 440 calories per day. (Eliminate gliadin and calorie consumption drops by 440 calories per day.)
2) You avoid the lectin in wheat, wheat germ agglutinin, that is directly toxic to the intestinal tract and causes abnormal intestinal permeability that Trojan horse’s foreign substances into the bloodstream, causing multiple inflammatory diseases. You may also restore leptin sensitivity to restore the capacity for weight loss.
3) You avoid the amylopectin A of wheat, the “complex carbohydrate” that accounts for the fact that two slices of whole grain bread increases blood sugar higher than 6 teaspoons of table sugar.
4) You avoid the alpha amylase inhibitors that trigger wheat allergy, likely the trigger for the boom in wheat allergy among kids.

There’s more, but you get the idea. Wheat is a perfectly crafted poison to humans.

Below list of products to avoid:

Other names for wheat

  • Bulgur (bulghar)
  • Durum, durum flour, durum wheat
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Enriched, white and whole-wheat flour
  • Farina
  • Flour (all-purpose, cake, enriched, graham, high protein or high gluten, pastry)
  • Farro
  • Fu
  • Graham flour
  • Kamut
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Sprouted wheat
  • Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye)
  • Triticum aestivum
  • Wheat (bran, germ, gluten, grass, malt, starch)
  • Wheat berries
  • Wheatgrass

Ingredients that may be derived from wheat

Avoid foods containing these ingredients unless the label states they are not made from wheat.

  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • Modified food starch
  • Vegetable starch or vegetable protein
  • Gelatinized starch
  • Natural flavoring

Foods that often contain wheat

  • Baked goods such as pastries, doughnuts, pies, pretzels
  • Baking mixes, powder and flour
  • Beer
  • Bread or bread crumbs
  • Cereal
  • Chicken and beef broth (cans and bouillon cubes)
  • Condiments, salad dressings, and sauces
  • Crackers
  • Deli meats
  • Falafel
  • Fried, breaded chicken, fish, or other deep-fried foods
  • Gravies
  • Host (communion, altar bread and wafers)
  • Hot dogs
  • Ice cream
  • Imitation bacon
  • Meatballs or meat loaf
  • Panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)
  • Pasta, including couscous, gnocchi, spaetzle, chow mein, lo mein, and filled pastas
  • Pie fillings and puddings
  • Sausages
  • Soups
  • Soy sauce or tamari (unless gluten-free)
  • Tabbouleh
  • Tempura

Non-food sources of wheat

  • Cosmetics and hair-care products
  • Medications and vitamins
  • Children’s play dough
  • Pet food
  • Wallpaper paste or glue

Foods That Are (Surprisingly) Wheat-Free

  • Buckwheat
  • Kasha


Canadian Food Inspection Agency. Wheat Allergy. Accessed 7/9/2011.

By Leszek Stelmachowski

Full-Time Coach / Part-Time Artist
I will help you reach your full potential.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.